• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

New Member... New Tank... Newbie... 30 Gallon Long Posting

Hey all...

I was asked by CMSURFR22 to give a listing of my equipment and setup as well as some of the steps I've currently taken to get my first reef aquarium going. It would be great if my first attempt at this was a complete success! I am completely new to all of this but can already tell that it's going to be very enjoyable along the way.

Here it goes:

I have a 30 Gallon Tank that sits on an oak stand. The tank is trimmed in oak so it matches the stand. Picked it up at Animals and Things in Woodbridge. I would have made different choices with the setup knowing what I know now. I would have gone bigger. I have been debating just going bigger but my wife keeps me sane. Her suggestion is to see if I can get one going in a 30 Gallon and upgrade if all works out. I'm determinned to get to that point. Would love a 75 gallon to have some of the fishes I've been looking at.

Within this tank, is about 40 Pounds of Live Sand and 20 Pounds of Live Rock. I did not know anything about curing or cycling when I introduces them to the tank so they were actually introduced to water that had been dechlorinated, with SALT added. I now know better. I've done my reasearch and picked up an RO/DI unit that is going to be under my kitchen sink. What is nice about this unit is that it has 2 outputs of water from an RO storage tank. 1 For Drinking and a separate one that goes through a DI filter just for Aquarium use. All future water added to this tank will be RO/DI water.