• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

newb here

first off i would like to introduce myself, my name is scott and i live in toms river, nj. i have been keeping freshwater fish for many years and recently took a step into the marine world, so i ask if any of my questions are dumb to you guys please bare with me, i have a drift of what im doing, but i like to be 10000% sure before i start things so here we go....

im setting up a 30 gal xtall tank, im running it open topped, canopy lighting, 4inch DSB, 40lb live rock in main tank and 5 in refug. now here is my question...i was originally going to run a HOT overflow box, down to the refug under the main tank, and return it with a submersible pump into the main tank. pretty much i would use a protien skimmer in the fug and the roch and sand as a filter. well my cousin just gave me his EHEIM wet/dry canister filter good for 100 gallons. now....can i use the EHEIM to draw water from my tank, deposit it into the refug, and use a pump and powerhead to return the water to the main tank? im going to be useing an extra 20gal as the refug so that it gives me more water volume. now im going to tone down the power of the EHEIM so that its not that strong, but what can i use to return the water that can match the flow rate??

Phyl

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
The matching of flow rates is not very practical. It would be very difficult to find a flow that matched *perfectly* and even if you did manage to match it, there's no saying that you wouldn't have something happen to one pump that would cause the contents of one tank to end up emptying onto the floor.

You should stick with the overflow idea. If you want to use the eheim filter I would have it move water to and from the sump.