• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

R/O ..... TDS and hair algae.

I've been battling a bout of hair algae for the last 2 months give or take.

I check my water 3x per week and as per other thread things seem fine on that front.

So today I went to pick up some r/o from my somewhat LFS. But beforehand stopped at the other LFS down the street from them and bought a TDS meter.

Had my jugs filled and made the half hr ride home.... checked the water right in the jug after I got home and the TDS meter read 11 ppm. At first I thought it might be the jug being dirty but went down the line and checked each jug and got the exact same reading. When a jug gets completely empty I shake it out thoroughly and put the lid back on it. Once a month I soak them with water and white vinegar to rinse them out.

So now I have 25 gallons of r/o with a tds reading of 11 and if I remember right r/o is only usable when the ppm are less than 2.

So my questions are as follows.

Can the TDS in my r/o be causing my hair algae outbreak?

What, besides dumping out the new r/o and not using it can I do to possibly use this r/o....is it salvageable and if so how do I go about doing it

How do you store your r/o so it doesnt go bad.... any special way to keep it.
I have no place to set up my own unit and burn off about 2-3 gal a day in evaporation so running back and forth to the store is not something I want to add to my daily routine.

Thanks for the help

Derrick