• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Red Slime Algae eating inverts / fish ??

danthemanj

FRAG SWAP VENDOR
Anyone know of any red slime eating inverts or fish? I'm begining to get it on my rocks and want to control it before it gets out of hand.

Thanks,

Dan

Edwardw771

NJRC Member
i've been fighting it for a few months with the Marco Rocks. 10% water changes a week have been reducing it.
I also tried to not run the lights for a few days.

danthemanj

FRAG SWAP VENDOR
Surprisingly, its only occuring on my Marco Rocks. Not a sign of it on my Sand Bed. I'm doing 10% weekly water changes but it doesn't seem to be helping too much. I started running a Phosphate reactor a couple of days ago with Phospure from Drs. Foster and Smith so I'll have to see how that works out.

I was having the same problem, nothing that I did was getting rid of it till I change my power heads from 2 maxijets 1200 and a seio 820 to 2 Koralia 4. The only assumption I could make is that I just need it more water flow. now all the red slime is gone from my main tank and only get it in my refugium were the water flow is slow. I was thinking about using red slime remover but I'm still not too sure how safe it will be with the corals.

let me know if you get rid of it any other way.

danthemanj

FRAG SWAP VENDOR
I'm moving about 10,000 gallons per hours in my display tank so I don't think its necessarily the flow. I'll test my water parameters again today and see if it gives me some clues.

sorry to say nothing but better flow and phosphate reduction. maybe you have some dead spots in your tank that you don't realize even with the large water flow

Thanks
Harry