• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Salt Mixing Help

I purchased an RODI unit from Marine Depot that i will be installing this weekend. I also purchased a bucket of Red Sea Coral Pro Salt. Just like everything else that Red Sea makes (supplement wise), the directions are vague and difficult to understand. I just need to know the ratio of salt per gallon of RODI water. This is my first time making my own water so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

kschweer

Administrator
Staff member
Officer Emeritus
If you mix a 1/2 cup per gallon it will get you close to 1.026 and you can adjust from there. This applies to just about all salt mixes.

Hopefully you bought the booster pump and 2 stage RO for your system, will significantly increase your water output and reduce your waste. I also make sure have mixed the salt water thoroughly, several hours, before testing and making any adjustments.

Mark_C

Staff member
Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member
Agreed with 1/2 cup per gallon...

BUT! You also need a TDS (Total Dissolved Solids) meter to determine that the RODI is producing what you need. You may already have one built into your RODI, it is usually a small box with a digital display and an in/out slider.
When switched on and on the 'In' setting it should read the 'dirtiness' of the water coming into your system and can be any number. This indicates foreign particles in the water and is measured in PPT (parts per thousand).
My incoming (switch on 'In' setting) is 180-230 on average but the numbers vary widely.
The important part is the 'Out' setting which should be at '0', a '1' is grudgingly acceptable but '0' is the goal.
IF you do not have one of those boxes on the RODI you can buy one to install...