• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

stuck with lighting

hey everyone im new to salt tanks and new to this site.... ive been reading around and you guys seem helpful.... i just started a 65g tank and i am preparing my tank for corals and anenomes.... im not getting them anytime soon but i just wanna be ready before the time comes my tank is 36x18x25 any suggestions on lighting

magic

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
Craz

Welcome to NJRC. I have a 36" Current Outer Orbit it has 2 X 150w MH and 4 39w T5s. If the ambient temp of the room doesn't get that hot this may be a good fit otherwise the MHs will probably create a temp problem and require a chiller. The other choice would be a all T5 fixture (although you won't get the shimmer effect). The T5s run cooler and alot of our members are getting great results utilizing them. There is also a cost diff between MH and T5 fixtures with the MHs commanding more money. I'm sure you will get a few more recommendations. Hope this helps

Bob

malulu

NJRC Member
may be 4 or 6 T5, with one 150W MH (just for the shimmer effect?)

some LED light also have the shimmer effect, but not sure how bright for them to see the effect when mixed with T5.

crazkid479 said:
hey everyone im new to salt tanks and new to this site.... ive been reading around and you guys seem helpful.... i just started a 65g tank and i am preparing my tank for corals and anenomes.... im not getting them anytime soon but i just wanna be ready before the time comes my tank is 36x18x25 any suggestions on lighting

depends on the corals and anemones...