• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

sump advice

I am a newbie looking for some help. I am not really a DIYer but am willing to give it a try. Anyway, here goes. I am going to attempt to build a sump/fuge out of a 29g. tank( 30x12x18H). How thick should the glass for my baffles be? Is 1/4" sufficient? Also, how far apart should they be spaced? Is there any way to determine what size to make my individual compartments? I really like Rich T's design that feeds the fuge right from the skimmer output. Rich, Can you tell me what brand of skimmer that is? I have a Magdrive 7 that I would like to use as my return pump. Will this be o.k.? That's all I can think of right now. I'm sure that I will have more questions before it's over. Thanks for any help.

I got the small glass from lowes for the baffles and it holds just fine. They should be 1 inch apart.

I had to get thicker glass for the refuge becuase that exploded on me. I got 1/4 inch and it worked great.(cheap at a glass store) It really is cheap and easy BUT you can never put too much silacone on. You don't want a leak and have to drain it and do it again. (I had to do that becuase I did not use enough silacone)

Thanks for the reply Jazzsam. I think that I am going to go with 1/4" for all the baffles. I will definitely remember to use excessive amounts of silicon. Thanks again.

One other thing to mention. The raised baffle is supposed to be up 1 inch but if I did it again I would raise it just a hair more than that. I found that when I put too much flow into the skimmer side of my sump it will go over that baffle. Not must more than an inch but just a hair more.