• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

to change water or not?

So, I am still pretty new at this hobby - about 14 months on my DT and 9 months on my 15g. However, I am really beginning to wonder if water changes are really a good thing / restrict growth?

I know a lot of you will probably have a lot of negative comments on this behavior, but please hear me out first.

I apologize that this is a somewhat long posting.

For the first 10 months I was very good on cleaning my tank - 20%+ WC a week with RO/DI water, blowing off the rocks, cleaning the bottom etc.

However, I never saw any significant coral growth. Xenia would grow a little bit, but my GPS, Kenya, Hammer, mushrooms, etc had not grown at all. I saw few zoa spawns, but even those were very few. However, everything was healthy and I had nursed a BTA from bleached to "normal" brown.

Then my wife had hand surgery, my son had swine flu, I had three herniated disks in my back and the tank was impossible to care for in the same fashion. I topped it off, did a 10-15 gallon water change (of 50 or so gallons) the entire period - it was not easy lugging the water round in buckets and then getting the buckets up and over my shoulder.

In this period, everything flourished - for the first time. Coraline covered all parts of the glass accept for a few places that had little light behind rocks. Coraline would almost completely cover the front glass if I let it grow three weeks.