• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

weird things after water change

ryanpal

NJRC Member
i just did my weekly water change last night. today some weird things are happening. my rbta decided to start moving and i also noticed my galaxis is eroding away. i'd say at a decent rate. other corals show no signs of distress.

any ideas? i'll check my water parameters, but does this seem to match any particular problem?

ryanpal

NJRC Member
any takers? looks like this coral is still eroding away. no signs of distress on other corals.

You have to post your water parameters first before anyone can help. What type of salt are you using? Did you let it mix for at least 24 hours before you used it?

I'm still learning.. so I may be way off, but what is your calc and mag levels at? I noticed that during my last water change (~50%) a large portion of my coraline turned white. My calc and mag levels were extremely high and now they are pretty low. So, I am guessing that's the reason why they are dying or changing color. I'm getting ready for another 50% water change tomorrow so I haven't compensated, but maybe that coral is really sensative (?).

also, you have to make sure the temp of the water matches the tank water. a sudden change in temp is not something these animals are accustomed to

Ryan,

Can you explain/describe the eroding? Is there any sign of brown jelly on the coral? Are polyps being ejected? Because all your other coral is fine, I am thinking there is some type of disease. Perhaps the RBTA stung the Galaxy during it's move?

ryanpal

NJRC Member
hi guys. thanks for the replies. sorry for the delayed response, holidays can be quite time consuming.

here are the following water paramters:
dkh: 8
ca: 380