• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

xenia

2 days ago I introduced xenia to my tank. A 20 gal ong 150 watt MH. The xenia were originally from my friends tank but his tank crashed so he gave me his remaining coral. It seems the xenia have not opened up ywt. Its the 3rd day now. It actually seems the xenia shrivled up even smaller then they originally were. I dont know what wrong. Are they dead? If not how would I know corals are dead. Im a newbie to tanks so plz take consideration when giving me answers plz. =/ Thanx

Trio,

Please don't be offended, we are very patient with new hobbyists, but please stop putting livestock in your tank!

I've read your threads over on RC and we need to help you work some things out. I live nearby in Woodbridge and would be happy to help you out.

For starters Let's get some parameters on your tank. SG, ph, temp, ammonia, nitrates, nitrites, anything else you may test.

How do you make new saltwater? Do you topoff wit RO/DI or tap water?

I know you are waiting for 2 months to clear up you ich proble, but don't rush to add corals right away either.

Start slow, we can help you get running soon. As far as the Xenia goes, is it in a high flow or low flow area? Is your 20 gallon high or long? In other words how deep is it? What kind of lighting did you friend have it under, and how long did he have it before the tank crashed?

nothing wrong with a 150w MH over a 20 long, the question is how high of the water & whats the temp.
i had a 250w MH over my 29 gallon 9 inch off the water with good fans & heat was not an issue.

Phyl

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus