• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

120g Into the Sea -- My First Saltwater Build

OK -- Its time. The stars have aligned and I have gotten out of my own way. Plus, my spouse has been won over :) I'm going to be embarking into the world of reefing.

Taking the advice I've seen I am going to outline my plans here and I welcome feedback or suggestions. I try to measure twice and cut once whenever I can.

I plan on keeping corals and a variety of fish - I'm prefer having smaller and medium sized fish for schools and pairs rather than specific large fish.The fish that have caught my eye so far: clowns (I love them), Mandarin, and tangs. As for corals - I love movement and a torch coral is what sparked me to reconsider getting into saltwater. I'm still learning about the different kinds of corals but so far torches and (strangely) green star are my faves.

On the the proposed setup -- this is where I really need some eyeballs to make sure I'm being smart in what I'm ordering. I am going with a larger tank so budget is going to be limited for more high end components. My plan is to put in the size tank I want, start basic with components/livestock, and upgrade parts overtime. Aside from where noted I have not pulled the place order trigger yet.

Tank:
120 gallon SC Aquarium - internal overflow (need to be as flush as possible) herbie style drain - Ordered and OtW

Sump:
RUBY SUMP 36 -- I'm still unsure on this one. I am fairly certain I want to go the refugium route (given then desire for mandarins) -- unsure on the proper size for my intended tank

Return Pump:
Eheim - Compacton 5000

Powerheads: Still very conflicted about what to do here