• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Acclimating SPS corals

NanoJoe

NJRC Member
I am a little new to SPS corals and having some troubles keeping them alive. They always seem to die the same and this is from the base up. Just bleaching it seems not as much as RTN or STN.
I do want an SPS dominate tank.

Tank is 18 months old now with an ATI 36 inch bulb fixture 10 hours total 4 of which are all bulbs on. 4 blue plus 2 purple plus
Some coralline algae growth
ALK: 8.5 (steady)
CA: 440
Mg: 1400
NO3: 15
PO4: .08

Lots of flow i have a red sea reef wave 25 and (2) Sicce Xstream pumps. The Xstreams are on a reef crest mode while the red sea is on a random flow mode at 100%. I could probably get another wavemaker in the tank for more flow.

I feel as though maybe my acclimation to the light might be the reason. When i do get SPS corals i typically put them on the sandbed to start the light acclimation for a couple weeks. Then ill move them up to the rocks on spots i think would work, still on their frag plugs. After a few days ill glue them down if they look okay. Then the bleaching starts slowly.

What is your method from start to finish?
Should I utilize a frag rack on the side wall for acclimation?

eholceker

NJRC Member
I am a little new to SPS corals and having some troubles keeping them alive. They always seem to die the same and this is from the base up. Just bleaching it seems not as much as RTN or STN.

Tank is 18 months old now with an ATI 36 inch bulb fixture 10 hours total 4 of which are all bulbs on. 4 blue plus 2 purple plus

Lots of flow i have a red sea reef wave 25 and (2) Sicce Xstream pumps. The Xstreams are on a reef crest mode while the red sea is on a random flow mode at 100%. I could probably get another wavemaker in the tank for more flow.