• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Ich ?

Hi i am a newbie to the hobby i recently purchased a established 5 year old system that included a large yellow tank picasso trigger sohal tang and tomato clown.

I moved the system to my house and setup all was well for several weeks . I added a cople of anemones and some fether dusters and some coral.

About 2 weeks ago my picaaso became sick so i quarenteened it and it did not make it. It showed not exterior spots or rot it appeaered normal.

Just yesterday my son spotted a mark near the tail of my tomato clown. It looks like the a clear peice of his skin hanging off. His appetite is fine and he did not seem streessed. I did notice the past few nightw when the lights went out in the room and the aquiruim lights on he gets aggitated at his reflection and slams his tail hard into the glass making a pretty good noise.

I was wondering if he has a wound from slamming his tail or is this the onset of ich?

I put him in a quarenteen tyank last night and this morning that skin seems to be getting better. If this is ich how would I know would it spread over his body? The other fish show no signs of it.

Good to hear you have quarantine set up.

Can you list some info to help?

what size tank?
what is the water parameters - ammonia, nitrate, ph, alkalinity (maybe you could bring a sample to the LFS to test?)

The slamming of a fish's body against coral, substrate or glass does sound like an abnormal behavior.

In terms of fish - i read that you lost the picasso, but are QT'ing the clown. That leaves the sohal and yellow tang in the tank?

Chuck,