• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

New to this

D085FF5F-20B0-4173-B447-CF79FD187419.jpeg Hello all. My name is Matt and I am a new reefer or to be more accurate I am new to this reefing world and do not deserve the title reefer. With this said I am posting hear with the understanding that I am going to get trashed and I accept this happily if it gets me the knowledge I need to be successful.
My tank and the majority of equipment is used or repurposed the main display is five feet wide 18 inches front to back and 24 inches tall. Most support tanks and equipment resides in basement below and about 12 feet away. There is a 40 gallon tank directly under the display that contains three 4 inch socks. And a protein skimmer. That tank drains into a 55 gallon refugium, a 90 gallon tank with extra rock, a 90 gallon tank used for extra water volume and finally a 60 gallon tank that has filter socks and a return pump
395DC7F2-3DFC-495D-94F2-EA515FB9CE7B.jpeg
This is some of the plumbing in the support tanks. Kind of difficult to take pics. Very tight space BF68D4A5-446D-4777-9E4C-DDEA2B876504.jpeg

This as far away as I can get to take pic.
89DFF062-D767-4DE6-98C6-9146E2C0B247.jpeg
I should be ready to start cycling in a couple more weeks. I’m not sure what you all need to know but will be happy to reply to any comments or suggestions. Thank you all for the help

Mark_C

Staff member
Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member
Welcome aboard!

First, love the stand, if you put a bar and a TV in there you're set.
Also love the set up, I'm surprised you're a first timer with the hobby as you're setting up a fantastic system.

Secondly...
I am posting hear with the understanding that I am going to get trashed and I accept this happily if it gets me the knowledge I need to be successful.