• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Tank Space for Fish

Hey I am new to marine aquariums. I am taking the advice of some fellow reefers and looking at the fish I want before I pick the size of my tank, as I have a couple of choices in size; 55 or 29 gallon, or larger. How important is it to follow space parameters for specific fish. For example online it says that a yellow tang needs at least 100 gallons; what if I put it in a 75 gallon? I would like some inputs on what has and has not worked for them.
:stung:

Welcome to NJ Reefers, and please ask away with questions. There are a lot of people here with great experience.
Yes, that is the recommendation on the yellow tang, anything smaller and the "tang" police will be knocking on your door. j/k - but is somewhat true. The recommended sizes are based to keep the fish happy and healthy as it needs a lot of swimming room. Can it be done? Sure, but not favorable for the fish. The general rule of thumb is 1 inch of fish for each gallon of water. If you want to have a lot of fish, then a lot of water changes or some other denitrification system will be needed. All these are guidelines and they certainly been broken many times w/success. Also read up on the order certain fish need to be introduced, Yellow Tangs are generally aggressive and will own the entire tank if it's one of the first in.

Plan on a QT for tangs as well. They are highly prone to Ick.