• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

New and Nervous

hello everyone,

This will likely be a bit wordy....cuz...well...I'm wordy by nature...grins

I've always wanted a reef tank and have finally gotten up the nerve to start one....I've been researching like crazy, but as you can tell from my name, that has not alleviated all the questions that I have....I'm very new to this endeavor...so new that I don't even have a set-up yet..I'm still in the planning stages.

My brother just ordered my 55 gallon tank and my father is in the process of building my stand (nice to have a carpenter in the family)...needless to say, the tank hasn't arrived yet and the stand isn't completed yet.

Due to my budget, I'm taking things slow. I just purchased the aqua c remora skimmer and will likely purchase a filter within the next month. I have a question about the filter. I've read that some say you don't even need a filter due to the live sand and live rock as long as you have a decent protein skimmer. This just doesn't seem right to me. I want fish in the tank and I know that will increase the bioload. I'm looking into the Eheim Wet/Dry canister filter- Model 2227. It is in my price range and advertized as not needing a sump set up. I really don't want to mess with plumbing and a sump set up. I also plan to get the Nova Extreme HO T-5 fixture with lunar lights. I figure that will be the last purchase as I've read that one should take their time with tank cycling and that you don't need to put the lights on until the tank has cycled and is ready for stocking. Is this true?

anyway..I know I've been wordy, thank you for your time in reading this and I am definitely open to suggestions regarding the lighting and filter within my price range.